Timbaland to be inducted into the 2024 Songwriters Hall of Fame

Timbaland to be inducted into the 2024 Songwriters Hall of Fame

as he should! Congratulations to the 🐐
18 January 2024 9:13AM

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its latest class of inductees and Timbaland is among the songwriters to be inducted into this year's Hall of Fame.

Timbaland wasn't expecting this news and he reveals to CBS News that it actually 'caught him off guard'.

"It caught me off guard because you know for me, I don't never look at my work to be put up on a pedestal. I just love to keep working and doing God gave me the gift to do," said Timbaland.

When talking about the pressures of staying on top in the music industry, he said:

"You are only as good as your last hit. I think I just never falling out of love for what I do and what the gift God gave me to do. I think that's my process. It has always been my process".

This year's Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees are hip-hop and R&B producer Timbaland, rock bands R.E.M. and Steely Dan, singer-songwriter Hillary Lindsey and Footloose lyricist, Dean Pitchford.

The annual induction ceremony is an intimate event that has never been live-streamed or televised since its inception in 1969.

Last year's inductees were Gloria Estefan, Jeff Lynne, Teddy Riley, Liz Rose and Glen Ballard. Special awards were presented to Post Malone, Tim Rice and Anthony Mason.

"I've said it before, but the music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch . . . nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter," Hall Chairman Nile Rodgers said in a statement.

"We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2024 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and literally enriched music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world."

The induction ceremony will take place in New York City on 13 June

Cover Media with additional reporting from Arju Pun.