Aotearoa wins big at World Rugby Awards!

What's Fresh 27/11/2017

New Zealand Rugby won a number of top awards at the World Rugby Awards in Monaco on Monday morning (NZ time).

The world champion Black Ferns have beaten out the All Blacks and England to win the Team of the Year prize.

It's a landmark moment for the New Zealand team, who've become the first women's team to claim the honour.

Black Ferns winger Portia Woodman won Women's Player of the Year.

Beauden Barrett won his second-straight Men's Player of the Year prize. The first-five beat out Rieko Ioane, Maro Itoji, Israel Folau and Own Farrell.

Even though Ioane missed out on the top prize, he did however win Breakthrough Player of the Year, beating out Emiliano Boffelli of Argentina and Damian Penaud of France.

England coach Eddie Jones beat out Steven Hansen for Coach of the Year - but admitted Hansen should have won the award for the second straight year.

"I fell a bit embarrassed getting it," said Jones. "We're not the number one team. Steve Hansen should be up here. Until we are, we have nothing to crow about."

The Black Ferns beat out the All Blacks and England for World Rugby Team of the Year.

Michaela Blyde won Women's Sevens Player of the Year, beating out fellow New Zealander Ruby Tui and Canadian Ghislaine Landry.

Full winners list:

Men's Player of the Year - Beauden Barrett (NZL)
Women's Player of the Year - Portia Woodman (NZL)
Team of the Year - Black Ferns
Coach of the Year - Eddie Jones (ENG)
World Rugby Referee Award - Joy Neville (IRE)
Try of the Year - Joaquin Tuculet (ARG)
Breakthrough Player of the Year - Rieko Ioane (NZL)
Men's Sevens Player of the Year - Perry Baker (USA)
Women's Sevens Player of the Year - Michaela Blyde (NZL)
IRPA Special Merit Award - Richie McCaw (NZL) and Rachael Burford (ENG)