Warriors win big at Dally M awards as Roger Tuivasa-Sheck takes out player of the season

Headlines 27/09/2018

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has become the first Warrior to win the Dally M medal as the Kiwi fullback heralded a new generation of talent in the NRL.

Tuivasa-Sheck polled 29 votes to win the league's player-of-the-season award by two points from Newcastle's Kalyn Ponga, with Cronulla's Valentine Holmes in third.   

In a sign of the changing times, none of the top five - which also included Luke Brooks and Mitchell Pearce - have previously polled in the top five positions at the Dally Ms during their career.   

The Warriors fullback trailed by one vote with a round to go but polled three points in the final round against Canberra while Ponga remained on the sideline injured.   

In doing so, he became the first fullback to win the award since Ben Barba in 2012, as he averaged 167 metres a match and busted through a total of 92 tackles.   

He was presented the award by Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Johnathan Thurston, before Issac Luke, Jazz Tevaga, Jamayne Isaako and Jordan Rapana launched an impromptu haka.

"I'm just blown away to be up here holding this award," Tuivasa-Sheck said.   

"It's crazy the generation that is coming through. Damien Cook, Valentine Holmes, Kalyn Ponga and Luke Brooks still really young and being mentioned up there.   

"It's an exciting year for rugby league and exciting for what's yet to come."   

Warriors winger David Fusitu’a claimed the NRL’s top try-scorer award, while Jazz Tevaga was interchange player of the year.

Credit to Newshub